The Library

Most days I’ve been riding a bike a couple miles into town and studying at the local library.

In the afternoons I’ve been generally helping my dad around the farm with sundry projects and work in the fields. One day last week I packed a lunch and took it over to my grandma’s house and ate with her. She’s 94 and still full of energy, but knows her life here is winding down. We got to talk about that a bit. I changed the battery in her smoke detector that was beeping and changed the settings on her computer (yes, my 94 year old grandmother emails every day!) so that the screen saver wouldn’t come on as quickly (she thought that meant she had to reboot the computer 🙂 ). And then I read on her front porch for awhile.

It’s the perfect place to slow down and we’re enjoying it very much. A verse that the Lord has been giving to Andrea and I lately is 1 Timothy 4:4 – “Everything created by God is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving.” We’re learning more how to just receive his good gifts like lightning bugs and chili-cheese dogs and rippling brooks and sunsets and the smell of hog manure (I find it strangely delightful) and hay mows and children’s laughter and porch swings and stories and family and games and many more simple pleasures that are pointers to his greatest gift – Jesus Christ – and his love for us in him. Continue to pray for us to soak in this love and be able to extend it more when we come back.

Leave a Reply

