Week after Week

I remember as a young man sensing a call to ministry asking my pastor if he ever ran out of stuff to preach on. He said No. I’ve found it to be true. I can resonate with these words of John Piper and trust God’s future grace that they will continue to be true for as long as God has me preaching:

I continually thank God that he has never left me on a Sunday morning without a word to speak and a zeal to speak it for his glory. Oh, I have my moods. My family of four sons and a steady wife is not without its pain and tears. Criticism can stab to the quick, and discouragement can go so deep as to leave this preacher numb. But it is a gift of measureless, sovereign grace that, beyond all desert and all inadequacy, God has opened his Word to me and given me a heart to savor it and send it forth week after week. I have never ceased to love preaching.

John Piper, The Supremacy of God in Preaching (Grand Rapids: Baker, 1990), 13.

Leave a Reply

