Accessories of My Narcissism

From Michael Horton, The Gospel Commission: Recovering God’s Strategy for Making Disciples (Grand Rapids: Baker, 2011), 126:

‘In Adam’ I am self-enclosed, in my own identity. Even other individuals in my circle are accessories of my narcissism, nurturing my narrow longings, aspirations, identities, and choices. However, ‘in Christ’ I am an opened-up person, called out of my cocoon of inwardness to embrace others – indeed, strangers – whom God has made my new family.

Leave a Reply

