Does Inspiration Still Happen?

From the Introduction to George Barna’s book The Power of Vision: Discover and Apply God’s Plan for Your Life and Ministry (Grand Rapids: Baker, 2009 [1992]) –

Writing this book was such a different and memorable experience for me because never before – or since – have I had a book that seemed to be written through me rather than by me.  During that week of writing, it often seemed as if I were having something akin to an out-of-body experience, watching my fingers type in word after word and reading the text with admiration.  Without wanting to overstate the case, let me simply say that this book is one of my proudest offerings to the Lord – largely because I know how deeply integrated He was in the writing process.  When people give me compliments for the book, it is simply confirmation that the Lord wanted to get these thoughts into the minds and hearts of some of His people, and I was the available scribe of the moment.  What a privilege that was and continues to be.

That quote may reveal more about our culture’s view of Scripture than any of Barna’s polls.

Leave a Reply

